Home › Texas › TCOLE Jailer Exam
About the exam
Texas TCOLE Basic County Corrections (Jailer) Licensing Exam
To hold a jailer license in Texas you must complete the Basic County Corrections Course (TCOLE course 1121, at least 120 hours) at a licensed academy and then pass the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE) state licensing examination. Academies run their own end-of-course tests, but the licensing exam is TCOLE's: 100 multiple-choice questions drawn at random from the course chapters, 70 percent to pass, with three attempts before you must repeat the course.
The exam follows the Instructor Resource Guide for course 1121, which TCOLE publishes free. The current edition is the January 2026 revision, in force since April 1, 2026, and it reorganized several modules, rewrote the suicide prevention unit, added veterans content and renumbered statute references. This bank is written from that edition and every question cites the learning objective it tests.
The 14 modules cover TCOLE rules and the role of the jailer, Texas Commission on Jail Standards (TCJS) minimum standards, intake and classification, inmate rights, discipline and grievances, civil liability, use of force, restraints, searches and contraband, health care, mental health and suicide prevention, and security, emergencies, transport and documentation.
Exam format
TCOLE Jailer Exam: questions, time and pass mark
| Item | Official exam | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Questions | 100 multiple choice, randomly selected from the course chapters | Verified Oct 2026 (BCC 1121 IRG, Module 1 Assessment) |
| Pass mark | 70 percent | Verified Oct 2026 (IRG Module 1) |
| Attempts | Three; after a third failure, enroll in a new Basic County Corrections class | Verified Oct 2026 (IRG Module 1) |
| Time limit | Not stated by TCOLE (third-party sites say 105 minutes) | Unverified; practice test uses 105 minutes |
| Course length | Minimum 120 hours | Verified Oct 2026 (IRG Module 1) |
| Curriculum edition | January 2026 revision, effective April 1, 2026 | Verified Oct 2026 (tcole.texas.gov) |
| Exam fee | Set by TCOLE; check the current fee on tcole.texas.gov | Not verified for 2026 |
The practice test above draws 100 questions with a 105-minute timer and a 70% pass mark. Practice mode lets you work one topic at a time with explanations after every answer, and the cheat sheet view lists every question and answer for review.
Cost and booking
Fees, where to take it and retakes
Most jailers are hired first and sent to the Basic County Corrections Course by their sheriff's office, which also schedules the state exam at a TCOLE testing site after the academy reports course completion; a temporary jailer license lets a new hire work for up to a year while completing it. Course and exam costs are usually covered by the employing agency; if you attend an academy independently, the academy sets tuition and TCOLE charges its own exam fee.
The exam is taken at an approved TCOLE testing location on a computer. If you fail, you can retest up to two more times; a third failure means repeating the full course before testing again. After passing, the agency submits the license application and the jailer license is issued by TCOLE.
What’s covered
250+ practice questions, by topic
Written from TCOLE Basic County Corrections Course 1121 Instructor Resource Guide (January 2026). Every explanation cites its section.
- TCOLE Rules, Facility Oversight and Professional Conduct39
- Intake, Classification and Inmate Services50
- Inmate Rights, Discipline, Grievances and Liability38
- Use of Force, Restraints, Searches and Contraband33
- Health Care, Mental Health and Suicide Prevention45
- Security, Emergencies, Transport and Documentation45
Why people fail
The mistakes that cost people the TCOLE Jailer Exam
- Studying an old curriculum. The 2026 Instructor Resource Guide changed module order, the suicide unit and several statute citations; questions written from the 2016-era course can have different answers.
- Not knowing TCJS minimum standards numbers: observation intervals for at-risk inmates, screening at admission, staffing ratios, grievance response times and records retention.
- Confusing privileged and nonprivileged mail, and what may be suspended as discipline (never privileged correspondence or access to the courts).
- Weak on liability: when a supervisor is liable for subordinates, what deliberate indifference means, and why written orders matter.
- Rushing the health and mental health module. It is the largest on the exam after security, and the questions are about recognizing conditions and following policy, not treating them.
A study plan that works
- Download the January 2026 BCC 1121 Instructor Resource Guide from the TCOLE curriculum page. The learning objectives at the start of each module are the exam blueprint.
- Practice here by category in the order the course teaches it: TCOLE rules and facility oversight, intake and classification, inmate rights and liability, use of force, health and mental health, security and emergencies.
- Build a numbers sheet from the TCJS references in the guide: observation intervals, screening timing, hold times for family violence arrests, grievance deadlines and the 1:48 ratio.
- Take a full 100-question timed test in one sitting to build stamina, then review every missed explanation against the learning objective it cites.
- In your last week, re-run starred questions and reread the suicide prevention and use-of-force modules, which carry the most policy-based questions.
Try a few
Sample TCOLE Jailer Exam practice questions
Six questions pulled straight from the bank, with the answer shown. For the timed, no-peeking version, use the quiz above.
Why: The BCC (course 1121) requires a minimum of 120 hours. Academies may teach more than the minimum but never less.
Source: BCC 1121 IRG, Module 1 Length of Course
Why: An override is a deviation from the reclassification tree's routine result: the tree is completed normally, then the override level is marked and the reason is documented. A request from someone who knows the family is not itself a documented reason.
Source: BCC 1121 IRG, LO 7.2.6, Appendix B Case 1B
Why: Concerns that cannot be handled by the individual officer should be submitted in writing through the chain of command.
Source: BCC 1121 IRG, LO 11.3.1
Why: Cell searches are done without advance notice, with enough officers, with the water shut off so contraband is not flushed.
Source: BCC 1121 IRG, LO 10.3.5
Why: Hearing voices that others cannot hear is an auditory hallucination, the most common hallucination in schizophrenia.
Source: BCC 1121 IRG, LO 5.1.8, 5.1.18
Why: The curriculum states that under no circumstances shall an inmate be permitted to handle a set of jail keys, including trustees.
Source: BCC 1121 IRG, LO 10.1.11
FAQ
TCOLE Jailer Exam questions, answered
How many questions are on the TCOLE jailer exam?
100 multiple-choice questions, selected at random from the chapters of the Basic County Corrections Course. You need 70 percent to pass.
How many times can you take the TCOLE jailer test?
Three attempts. If you fail all three, the course must be repeated at a licensed academy before you can test again.
How long is the jailer course in Texas?
The Basic County Corrections Course (TCOLE course 1121) is a minimum of 120 hours. Academies may teach more but never less.
Is there a time limit on the TCOLE jailer exam?
TCOLE's curriculum does not state one. Third-party exam listings cite 105 minutes, which is what this practice test uses, but confirm with your testing site.
Can I work as a jailer before passing the exam?
Yes, on a temporary jailer license issued to a newly hired jailer, which allows up to one year to complete the course and pass the state exam. The sheriff's office handles the application.
What changed in the 2026 jailer curriculum?
TCOLE's January 2026 revision (effective April 1, 2026) regrouped modules, rewrote the suicide prevention unit, added veterans content and updated statute references, including the family violence hold provisions. This bank is written from the 2026 edition.
Is this the official TCOLE exam?
No. These are original practice questions written from the public TCOLE curriculum, with the learning objective cited on every explanation. Only TCOLE gives the licensing exam.